Province of Treviso, 56 minutes from Jesolo, 66 km
Strolling along the Via del Prosecco
by Rachele Callegari
On 7th of July 2019, the UNESCO Assembly recognised the Prosecco hills of Valdobbiadene and Conegliano as a World Heritage Site. It is a strip that extends from Valdobbiadene to Vittorio Veneto. Walking through this area, one is struck by the beauty of the verdant hills where small towns with a characteristic and almost timeless appearance peep out here and there. Conegliano stands out amongst them all. Known as the city of art and wine, it was the birthplace of the famous painter Giambattista Cima. The historic town centre, which stands on the ancient Contrada Granda, is home to several Renaissance palaces; resting on the hills near the city, is the Conegliano Castle, from which it is possible to admire a vast panorama, which goes from the Dolomites to the Venice Lagoon. The city hosts many events each year; one of the best known is the “Dama Castellana”, a historical re-enactment in medieval costumes. The culmination of the event is the Living Chess Match.
Smaller in size but equally typical is Susegana, whose territory borders that of Conegliano. Developed in Roman times as a control point for commerce along the Via Claudia Augusta, it is today known especially for the Castle of San Salvatore. Built during the fourteenth century, it has undergone several extensions over time but was almost entirely destroyed during the Great War. During the 1940s, reconstruction work began, which lasted for around ten years.
A fairy tale surrounded by greenery
Surrounded by fifty hectares of parks and gardens and located along the Via del Prosecco at Cison di Valmarino, Castello Brandolini d’Adda, also known as Castelbrando, is one of the oldest castles in Europe and was once the home of kings and princes: in fact, among others, Charlemagne and Queen Margherita stayed here.
The area on which it is located has been inhabited since Roman times: it was used as a territory for the control and defence of Via Claudia Augusta. Over time the town underwent various modifications: in the 12th-14th centuries it was inhabited by the Da Camino seigniory, who built the battlements still visible today; in 1343 the castle passed under the control of the Republic of Venice, which in turn gave it to the Brandolini. It was through them that it took its present form: during the 1500s the central area was enlarged and finally in the 1700s the horseshoe-shaped main building was built, designed by the architect Ottavio Scotti from Treviso. It remained in the Brandolini family until 1959, when it was sold to the Salesian order who transformed it into a centre for spiritual studies. The last change of ownership took place in 1997 when the castle was bought by the Colomban family, it underwent a major restoration to return it to its original glory.
Today the castle is home to a luxury hotel and a unique museum collection: there are six museum itineraries, dedicated to weapons, clothes, carriages, music and court life.